More salt dough earrings!

There’s something so immensely satisfying about finishing a project (or two) and completing the “must do today” on the endless “to do” list within a day! (Wait, what?)

In other words, I did some billing (for our business), folded laundry, AND made some jewelry!

image

I made these earrings using the same recipe/proportions for my salt dough heart earrings.

Before punching out the round shapes, I stamped the rolled dough using a slow drying pigment and a foliage relief stamp. I made sure I rolled the dough thinner this time.

Then I poked holes opposite ends of each other and placed them in the oven at the lowest setting (mine is 170) flipping them over every 30 minutes or so. It took about 2 hours.

I then took a nail file to it to smooth out the edges and slathered a layer of Mod Podge on both sides.

I added the fish hook findings and some up-cycled pearls to dangle. I love how they turned out! I will try it with some blue ink (maybe a cobalt blue color) to try to give it a porcelain effect. I’ve been making a lot of earrings lately, so maybe a bracelet next time. I’m not sure how sturdy those would be though. This project costs next to nothing so it’s definitely worth a shot!

Pip pip! Cheerio!

4 thoughts on “More salt dough earrings!

  1. I’m going to do a ‘compilation’ post in a couple of weeks of my favourite pieces. Would you mind if I copied your salt dough earrings picture into it?

Leave a Reply

