Go see COWL!

Do you remember that car sales commercial with Cal Worthington and his dog Spot? Why did he  never have a dog with him? It was always a tiger or an orangutan. And for a million years I thought the lyrics were “Pussy cow, pussy cow, pussy cow!” I know, weird. I was like 6 at the time. My homage to you, Cal!

Go see COWL!

Let’s make this cowl!

You’ll need:

3.5 oz of super bulky weight yarn – I’m using 2 balls of Lion Brand Yarn Landscapes -color Rose Garden (this brand of yarn is being discontinued. Boo!)

size 15 (10 mm) knitting needles.

Yarn needle to weave in ends.

2 large buttons – I made mine using some of my bead stash and fenagled toggles. Directions on how I made these to come…

toggle beads

I’m not one for being a stickler for gauge and it isn’t that important for this project. However, if you must know it’s somewhere around 13 sts and 9 rows to make a 4 in square.

Cast on 20 sts.

Row 1 -*Knit 1, purl 1. Repeat from * across.

Row 2 – *Purl 1, knit 1. Repeat from * across.

Row 3 – repeat row 1. ( Rows 1-3 are essentially the seed stitch)

Row 4 – P1, K1, P1, K14, P1, K1, P1

Row 5 – P1, K1, P16, K1, P1

Repeat rows 4 and 5 until your piece measures 24 1/2 inches. Watch a repeat of the Walking Dead during this time (optional).

Repeat rows 1-3.

Cast off. Weave in ends. It should look something like this!

Cowl laid flat. How funny, that’s my foot in the corner.

Part of what I love about this little cowl is that the spaces between the stitches are large enough to pass a button through without having to make the effort at buttonholes. I also want to make the buttons interchangable because frankly, I’m a bit fickle.

If you are not a commitment phobe, sew on your special buttons evenly along the edge toward the bottom.  Fasten along the short edge on the other side and you’re done! Ta da!

I like to accessorize my baby blue flannel sheep pjs with my cowl. Ha!

One final thought. My goal was to eliminate 2 balls of yarn from the stash. I succeeded in making something cute AND I didn’t use up both balls of yarn (DOH!). It’s ok because I have a plan for the little bit I have left!  I did also use up some of my bead stash, so bonus there! Woo hoo!

How do you eat an elephant?

One bite at a time.

One thought on “Go see COWL!

Leave a Reply

